The Institute is governed by a Council elected in accordance with the Royal Charter and Rules. Council’s main role is to ensure the Institute manages its resources effectively to promote and sustain high ethical, professional and technical standards in the banking industry.

Council currently comprises of 22 members, from a variety of backgrounds in the banking industry and elsewhere. These include five lay members appointed to represent the broader public interest.

Current members of Council 2017/2018


Council is supported by several committees and sub-committees, on which Council members and others serve. These include:
  • Executive Committee
  • Audit Committee
  • Nominations Committee
  • Quality & Standards Committee
  • Remuneration Sub-Committee
  • Learning & Development Board
  • Disciplinary Panel

View the Council and Committees - Terms of Reference 

If you require further information about our Council or Committees, please contact us.